The CQIC has been led by a steering group with a membership spanning public sector policy and construction delivery and the construction sector - main contractors, sub-contractors, and consultants. A list of members is included below. The group is co-chaired by a construction sector representative and a public sector representative. Ron Fraser, Chair of Construction Scotland, was the founding construction sector co-chair. The current co-chairs are Iain Kent for industry and Colin Campbell for the public sector.

This steering group has now become the working group for improving construction quality under the Construction Accord Transformation Action Plan.